DIY grad cap decoration

Next week I will walk at graduation after having spent the past 5 years of my life at 3 different universities, so you can bet your ass that I’m going to make the most of my special day! :) To be sure that my family who is traveling into the city to support me can actually see me in the sea of black caps and gowns, I decided to decorate mine so that I’ll stand out in the crowd (and it’s super cute too!)

Katelyn Elisabeth DIY Grad Cap

Materials Used
Self-Adhesive Vinyl Lettering – Helvetica White
Shimmery Gold Paper
Scrapbooking Flower Stick-Ons
Hot Glue Gun
Scissors or X-Acto knife

I purchased my materials at my local Blick store for under $8 but these supplies are readily available at any hobby shop. I started by taking the vinyl lettering – they’re really just stickers – and I placed them on my sheet of gold paper. I cut around the lettering so that there was a small gold border and then went back with an X-Acto knife to cut out the details on the inside of letters that I couldn’t easily get with scissors. All that was left to do was arrange the lettering and flowers and glue them on. Voila! Don’t forget to send me your cap creation if you decide to decorate. Post your photos in the comments below.

Easy Peazy Lemon Squeezey

blog-signature

Leave a Reply

