philly fashion week 2014 couture runway show

The final night of Philly Fashion Week 2014 was the Couture Runway Show at the Crane Arts building in Philadelphia. My first ever fashion week was an insane and amazing learning experience and I’m so grateful that FBH the agency let me be a part of it. The couture show really blew my expectations out of the water. Not to say that Philly Fashion week up to that point doesn’t deserve credit, but the quality we saw at the couture show really elevated Philly Fashion Week to the next level in my mind. Naturally, before we got to work, me and some of the other PR girls took to the red carpet to get a quick photo to begin documenting our night on Instagram.

Before we got to work, me and my other PR volunteer gal pals decided to stop on the red carpet for a quick photo
Before we got to work, me and my other PR volunteer gal pals decided to stop on the red carpet for a quick photo

My first duty for the couture show was to work with the other PR volunteers filling goodie bags for our front row guests. I took a quick second to take a shot of the program.

Philly Fashion Week 2014 Designer and Sponsors List
Philly Fashion Week 2014 Designer and Sponsors List

Before getting into position, we all took turns posing on the runway. Models for the minute!

Taking a moment to work the runway before the show began
Taking a moment to work the runway before the show began

In case you were wondering, this is what it looks like at the end of the runway. Photographers galore! I explained that they deserve to be on the other side of the camera every now and again.

Photographers at the end of the runway. Philly Fashion Week 2014
Photographers at the end of the runway. Philly Fashion Week 2014

Before we let the masses in, we gave those with press passes the opportunity to come in for a few interviews with the designers and models. Pictured below is designer Autumn Lin (center) snagging an interview before the show. She had some of my favorite designs of the night and the dress the model is wearing on the right was the piece she began her show with. Of course, the interviewer is also wearing an Autumn Lin design. Her designs are certainly avant garde and I was really impressed with the beautiful way she uses zippers to manipulate the shape of her garments.

Designer Autumn Lin taking a moment for an interview before the couture show began
Designer Autumn Lin taking a moment for an interview before the couture show began

For the couture show I was in charge of VIP seating, aka the gatekeeper LOL! For the runway show the previous night I had been in the reception area so as seating at the couture show began and people began flooding in – literally, running – to grab seats I was definitely taken aback.

The crowd at Philly Fashion Week 2014
The crowd at Philly Fashion Week 2014

Once we had our VIP seated and the show was about to begin, Carley, Amanda and I were able to sit FRONT ROW for the couture show. I was seriously beside myself – what an incredible perk of the job!

Sitting front row! Carley Pugh, Amanda Pagan, Kate Bishop (me!)
Sitting front row! Carley Pugh, Amanda Pagan, Kate Bishop (me!)

The show began and like I said earlier, I was totally blown away. My favorite designs from the night were from Autumn Lin, Dramatik Fanatic, but the hands-down best show in my opinion came from Nicci Hou. The craftsmanship of her line was impeccable and totally my style – very clean lines, lots of black, and super chic styling.

Love the full skirt and a surprising and interesting color combo. Ian Alexander Philly Fashion Week 2014
Love the full skirt and a surprising and interesting color combo. Ian Alexander Philly Fashion Week 2014
Autumn Lin Philly Fashion Week 2014
Autumn Lin Philly Fashion Week 2014
Loving this shift dress. Philly Fashion Week 2014
Loving this shift dress. Philly Fashion Week 2014
Also loving these candy-like chunky wedges
Also loving these candy-like chunky wedges
THAT PRINT! Philly Fashion Week 2014
THAT PRINT! Philly Fashion Week 2014
I dub this photo "Opulence". Philly Fashion Week 2014
I dub this photo “Opulence”. Philly Fashion Week 2014
Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014
Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014
Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014
Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014
My favorite look from the couture show - Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014
My favorite look from the couture show – Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014

No seriously, I’d buy Nicci Hou everythaang.

From Nicci Hou's Instagram account. Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014
From Nicci Hou’s Instagram account. Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014
C'est chic. Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014
C’est chic. Nicci Hou Philly Fashion Week 2014

After the show, my fellow PR intern Carley and I snagged a shot with designer and artist Alloyius McIlwaine of Cultures Clothing

Kate Bishop (me), Alloyius McIlwaine of Cultures Clothing, Carley Pugh at Philly Fashion Week 2014
Kate Bishop (me), Alloyius McIlwaine of Cultures Clothing, Carley Pugh at Philly Fashion Week 2014

To see all of the other AMAZING photos from my Philly Fashion Week experience, please head on over to my Instagram account. At the end of the show, co-founders of Philly Fashion Week Kerry Scott and Kevin Parker announced that they’ve outgrown the space at the Crane Arts building so I’m super excited to see where they plan to take Philly Fashion Week next. I had such a great time covering the events last week and now I’m really looking forward to what next season has to offer. :)

blog-signature

Leave a Reply

