Beauty Review: Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation and NYX Above & Beyond Concealer

If you read my blog regularly you’ll know that last week I posted about my first ever beauty haul so with that I’d like to review 2 of the products that I’ve been using every day since then – Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation and NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer. Some of the problems that I look to address with a foundation are that I have fairly large pores and because I’m so pale my skin is generally lackluster. 

With this foundation, you only need not even a PEA sized drop. I never really appreciated the phrase ‘a little goes a long way’ until now. The color I’m using is Cream Ivory. I like to use a brush to apply my foundation but it’s not necessary. Although the brush absorbs and wastes some of the product, I much prefer the finish I get when using a brush, particularly with this relatively thick foundation. Recently I’ve been using this Real Techniques expert face brush but it also looks great when applied using just your hands as well.

                 photo (6) photo 1 (2)

After I buff in my foundation, I apply concealer in a V-shape under my eye and then fill in where it’s needed. Pat to blend. The color concealer that I used is #03, Light Pale. You’ll want to grab a concealer that’s about a shade lighter than your foundation.

photo (7)

Et voila! Redness? gone. Under eye bags? Almost gone. My skin looks young and fresh as it’s supposed to.I am thrilled because I feel like I’ve truly found my forever foundation! I even prefer this foundation to my prized Dior AirFlash foundation. It’s creamy, it lasts all day, and I’ve finally received compliments on my skin for the first time EVER. What I like best about it is that I typically have dry patches on my face that when my foundation oxidizes become very apparent. Not anymore! :) The concealer is, eh, but for about $2 a pop, it totally exceeds my expectations of how a $2 concealer would perform. Though it sort of settled into some fine lines, it blended really well and stayed put all day.

The verdict? Recommended!

blog-signature

Leave a Reply

